I was told when I was a baby, my parents (especially my dad) planned to name me after my dad’s idol. His name is Fadzil bin Mohd Nor. He was Parti Islam Semalaysia (PAS) President back then.

So, they went to register my name. During that time, people did not write down the name they intended to use by themselves. There was an officer assigned for that specific job. He then recorded my name as ‘Fadel Noor’.

Since then, my dad kept calling me Delfa. It was derived from Fadel, but he took the second syllable making it first. In school, I noticed no one was able to spell my name correctly. None. When I made friends with non-Malays, they had some difficulty to pronounce my name based on Malay slang. Hence, they practise calling my name with new pronunciation. It was Faedel.

When I gradually grow older, some friends call me as Del – which is a short form of Fadel. Most of my family members start to tag me as Tam. Tam is an excerpt from Paktam – a name-calling based on numbers among brothers and sisters in the family.

Therefore, I can be addressed with Fadzil, Fadel, Delfa, Faedel, Del and Tam.

